Home Dossiers Dossier: Commissions of Inquiry

Dossier: Commissions of Inquiry

The Security Council, consisting of fifteen Member States of which 5 States are permanent Members, has been granted the primary responsibility of maintaining international peace and security by the Member States of the United Nations. To follow through on this responsibility, the Security Council is authorised under Article 34 of the United Nations Charter to investigate circumstances which may jeopardise international peace and security. To this end, Commissions and Investigation bodies may be created to examine situations that are brought to the attention of the Security Council by both Member and Non-Member States.